unnamed (7).jpg

You're Invited

ALH's 70th Anniversary Gala

Going Platinum

6:30 PM - Midnight, October 12, 2018 Hotel ZaZa

Honorary Chair: Council Member David W. Robinson

Co-Chairs: Duyen Huynh & Marc Nguyen, & Kristen Perrin


2018 Texas Artist of the Year - Francesca Fuchs

2018 Lifetime Achievement Award in the Visual Arts - George Smith

2018 Texas Patron of the Year - Jereann Chaney

Each year ALH pays tribute to those whose work or patronage has had a significant and positive impact on contemporary visual art in Texas


Courtney & John Anderson
Catherine D. Anspon
Bill Arning & Mark McCray
Sarah Balinskas & Jeff DeBevec
Michelle Barnes

Jonathan Beitler
Minnette & Peter Boesel
Leslie & Brad Bucher
Mark Cervenka

Dean Daderko
Rania & Jamal Daniel
Ryan N. Dennis
Sara Paschall Dodd
Krista & Mike Dumas
Alison De Lima Greene

Cara Lambright
John Guess & Melanie Lawson
Joseph Havel
Mary & George Hawkins
Cecily E. Horton

Kerry Inman & Denby Auble
Toby & Ina Kamps

Patricia Covo Johnson
Julie Kinzelman & Christopher Tribble
Ashley Langley
Nicole Longnecker
Lester & Penelope Gonzalez Marks

Betty Moody
Marc & Pamela Perilloux
Jessica Phifer
Debbie McNulty & Dean Ruck
Judy & Scott Nyquist
Crystal & Don Owens

Sally Reynolds
Lutfi Rukab
Leigh & Reggie Smith

Patricia Restrepo
Claudia Solís & Matthew Wettergreen
Phoebe & Bobby Tudor
Dr. Alvia Wardlaw
Lea Weingarten
Clint Willour
Lauri & Robert Wray



Debra Barrera, Jill Bedgood, Daniel Bertalot, Michael Bise, John Calaway, JooYoung Choi, 

Thedra Cullar-Ledford, Matthew Kelly Debbaudt, Julie De Vries, Sarah Fisher, Wayne Gilbert, 

Trenton Doyle Hancock, Joseph Havel, Dan Havel, Daniel Heimbinder, Hillerbrand + Magsamen, 

Clara Hoag, Ann 'Sole Sister' Johnson, Bradley Kerl, Jessica Kruetter, Dan Lam, Melinda Laszczynski, 

Matt Manalo, Max Manning, Jake Margolin and Nick Vaughan, Gabo Martini, Michael Menchaca, 

Shayne Murphy, Jessica Ninci, Angel Oloshove, Emily Peacock, Forrest Prince, Patrick Renner, 

Dean Ruck, Rajab Ali Sayed, Rhett Scott, Bret Shirley, Richard Stout, Erik Sultzer and Emily Halbardie, 

Prince Thomas, Kelli Vance, Myke Venable, Julie De Vries, Dick Wray

More to be announced...

gala Ticket & Table sponsorship Information

Add To Cart
Add To Cart
Add To Cart
Add To Cart
Add To Cart

previous art league houston GALAS


In 1983, Art League Houston created the Texas Artist of the Year award as a dynamic annual project documenting Texas art history. Art League Houston was the first organization in the state to develop such an award. To date, thirty-one artists have been honored. Past recipients include Trenton Doyle Hancock, Terrell James, Amy Blakemore, Havel Ruck Project, Rachel Hecker, Aaron Parazette, Mary McCleary, Joseph Havel, Melissa Miller, Al Souza, The Art Guys, Luis Jiménez, Bert L. Long, Jr., Jesús Moroles, James Surls, and Dr. John Biggers, among others.

In 1989, Art League Houston expanded the award to include patrons with its Texas Patron of the Year award for extraordinary individuals whose efforts have helped advance the work of Texas artists. Past patron honorees include Lynn Goode, Annise Parker, Mayor of Houston (2010-16), Stephanie Smither, Leigh and Reggie Smith, Judy and Scott Nyquist, Victoria and Marshal Lightman, Leslie and Brad Bucher, Anne and James Harithas, Gus Kopriva, Clint Willour, and Lester Marks, among others.  

In 2013, Art League Houston celebrated its 65th Anniversary as an arts organization and the 30th Anniversary of its Texas Artist of the Year award. In recognition of this occasion, Art League Houston established the Lifetime Achievement Award in the Visual Arts for artists whose career has spanned more than forty years, and who have made an outstanding contribution to the world of visual art in Texas and beyond. Past patron honorees include Jesse Lott, Forrest Prince and Kermit Oliver.