71st Anniversary Gala: SPECTRUM
6:30 PM18:30

71st Anniversary Gala: SPECTRUM

Art League Houston (ALH) is thrilled to announce the organization’s 2019 Annual Gala:SPECTRUM will be held on Friday, October 11, 2019 at Hotel ZaZa. Co-Chairs: Arvia & Jason Few and Robert Daniel & Julia O’Bryan Reynolds. The evening will begin at 6:30 pm and will feature a cocktail hour, seated dinner, award ceremony, DJ, dancing, and silent auction featuring artwork by local, national and internationally recognized artists.

This year’s gala marks ALH’s 71st anniversary of enriching the Greater Houston community with access and opportunities to engage in contemporary art. ALH is particularly thrilled to be honoringAnita & Gerald B. Smith as 2019 Texas Patrons of the Year, Margarita Cabrera as the 2019 Texas Artist of the Year, and Betty Moody as the inaugural recipient of the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award. Please join us to celebrate this milestone occasion and recognize these remarkable individuals for their extraordinary creative and philanthropic contributions. Funds raised from the gala provide critical support for our community engagement programs such asHealing Art, ArtBound! and the Summer High School Studio Art Intensive, as well as for our exhibition and public art programs. Your commitment will help ALH secure nearly one-third of its operating budget, allowing us to continue offering this high quality and innovative visual arts and education programming.

2019 Gala Host Committee

Eddie & Chinhui Allen • Catherine D. Anspon • Bobby Bass & Adrian Robles • Sarah Balinskas & Jeff DeBevec • Debra Barrera & Jonathan Hopson • Mary & Marcel Barone • Katharine Bowdoin Barthelme • Jonathan Beitler • Jennifer Blanco & John Earles • Minnette & Peter Boesel • Sarah Bray • Leslie Moody Castro • Jereann Chaney • Dean Daderko • Rania & Jamal Daniel • Ryan Dennis • Talley Dunn • Nima Farzaneh • Heidi & David Gerger • Curry Glassell • Lynn Goode & Harrison Williams • Harrison Guy • Cecily Horton • Patricia Covo Johnson • Julie Kinzelman & Christopher Tribble • Rainey Knudson & Michael Galbreth • Cara Lambright • Ashley Langley • Dillon Kyle & Sam Lasseter • Melanie Lawson & John Guess • Nancy Littlejohn • Deborah Lugo • Marlene Marker • Lester & Dr. Penelope Marks • Sean & Rebecca Marshall • Gabriel Martinez • Craig & Tatiana Massey • Poppi Georges Massey • Matthew Mcdonald • Debbie McNulty & Dean Ruck • Susana Monteverde • Delilah Montoya • Duyen & Marc Nguyen • Judy & Scott Nyquist • Crystal & Don Owens • Kristen & Drew Perrin • Janet Phelps • Jessica Phifer • Susan & Richard Quarles • Dr. Mari Carmen Ramírez • Nicole & Joey Romano • Dr. Greg Shannon • Linda Shearer • Leigh & Reggie Smith • Darryl Ratcliff • Claudia Solis & Matthew Wettergreen • Scott R. Sparvero • Lee Steffy • Giovanni Valderas • Bridget & Patrick Wade • Dr. Alvia Wardlaw • Lea Weingarten • Jill Whitten & Rob Proctor • Clint Willour & Reid Mitchell

View Event →

Sawyer Yards Mural Project Unveiling by ALH Teen Intensive
5:30 PM17:30

Sawyer Yards Mural Project Unveiling by ALH Teen Intensive

Sawyer Yards Mural Project
ALH's 2019 Summer High School Studio Art Intensive

Saturday July 13, 2019
5:30 PM Winter Street Studio's
2101 Winter St, Houston, TX 77007

Art League Houston (ALH) is excited to invite the public to the unveiling of the Sawyer Yards Mural Project by artists in the 2019 Summer High School Studio Art Intensive at 5:30 PM on July 13, 2019 at Winter Street Studio's. The event is presented in conjunction with the Saturday Night Market and Second Saturday Open Studios at Sawyer Yards.

ALH’s 2019 High School Summer Studio Art Intensive began on June 2 with 15 participants between the ages of 14 and 17. Students spent the first three weeks of June meeting with professional artists for talks and intensive studio art workshops, visiting art spaces around the city, and discussing ideas for their culminating exhibition in August. Thanks to a collaboration with Sawyer Yards, students were able to embark on a mural project under the direction of Director of Community Engagement, Eepi Chaad, and Houston muralist, Armando Castellan, who guided the young artists through an extensive research phase that investigated the historic neighborhoods that make up today’s Houston Arts District. Each young artist executed their individual contributions to the mural, which was completed the last week of June.

Significant support for this project has been provided by the National Endowment for the Arts, Houston Endowment, the Brown Foundation, City of Houston through the Houston Arts Alliance, Sawyer Yards, Arts District Houston, Fresh Arts, Grace Zuniga, Theresa Escobedo, Marci Dallas, Angela Carranza, Reyes Ramirez, Kevin Barcelo Segui, Dani Antelo, Emily Sloan, Jamie Robertson, Jaz Henry, Lovie Olivia, Melissa Walter, Moe Penders, Nicolle Lamere, Nyssa Juneau, Qindeel Butt, Sophie Asakura, Alberto Careaga, Adrianna Benavides, Michael Simmonds, Emily Fens, Natalie Svacina, The Station Museum, BOX 13 ArtSpace, CAMH, Lawndale Art Center, Houston Center for Contemporary Craft, Hannah Nigos, Zerong Jiang, Jinge Lou, Denise McKee, Ernesto Gachupín, Haide Smith, Toyin Asojo, Viviana Valverde, Terena Morin and Stephanie Waller.

View Event →